Călin Ioachimescu


Romanian composer • b.1949

Short biography

Călin Ioachimescu • Romanian composer (b. 1949, Bucharest). In 1975, he studied composition with Ștefan Niculescu at the Bucharest Conservatory. In 1980 and 1984 he took part in the International New Music Courses in Darmstadt. In 1982, he was awarded a French Government music research grant and took part in the Rencontres Internationales de Musique Contemporaine in Metz and IRCAM events in Paris. He went on to study computer music at IRCAM in 1985.


He has received numerous awards, including the Kranichsteiner Musikpreis (Darmstadt, 1984), the Union of Romanian Composers and Musicologists Prize (1979, 1982, 1988, 1992, 1995, 1999, 2002, 2008, 2012, 2015) and the Romanian Academy Georges Enesco Prize. He is the founder and director of the Union of Romanian Composers and Musicologists Electro-Acoustic Music Studio.


A representative of the Romanian current of spectral music, Călin Ioachimescu has long shown himself to be preoccupied with the inner structure of sound. Based mostly on the series of natural harmonics, his music is characterised by its consonance and vitality. Landmarks in his career include Tempo ’80, Concerto for Trombone, Double Bass and Orchestra, Concerto for Saxophone and Orchestra, Concerto for Cello and Orchestra, Concerto for flute and Orchestra, two string quartets, Palindrome/7, Oratio II, Spectral Music, Celliphonia, Les éclats de l’abîme, hep-taGRaMa, Tetra-Chords, Organum Decimum, Digital Birds.

Călin Ioachimescu

(b. 1949)

Organum decimum • Composition: Călin Ioachimescu; Performance: Flaut Power, conductor – Ion Bogdan Ştefănescu 

„George Enescu” Concert Hall of the National University of Music, Bucharest, 2018